App Preferences

How to Open a New App?#

app name and key

Under App preferences select '+ New App'. Submit the app name and the specific app ID and app key are displayed (You can edit the app name at any time). These are the keys for the app's integration with Shipbook.

Integration#

Choose between quick integration wizard or the advanced integration document. You will allways be able to go back and review the integration document.

Configuration#

configuration

Here you have the option to configure which logs will be retained and stored by Shipbook.

  1. Off: Stops all logs from being sent to the server.

  2. All logs: Knowledge is power. Often the "insignificant" logs can actually fill in the details and help you see the larger picture so fixing issues is faster and easier. That is why we reccomend selecting the "all logs" setting.

  3. Accumulate logs: This setting accumulates all logs in the memory of the device, until a crash, warning or error log appears. Once a log of any severity is detected, all logs are uploaded to the server from the device.

  4. Warning: This configuration will only upload logs that are classified as warnings or higher severity.

  5. Custom: Config File- In the root configure the following:

eventLoggingDisabled - This will disable the automatic event logging.

exceptionReportDisabled - This will disable the system from catching exceptions and reporting them.

In the SBCloudAppender configure the following:

maxTime: the maximum amount of time (in seconds) that the device will retain logs before sending them to the server.

maxFileSize: the max file size of the logs that will be saved on the device before sending them to the server. Logs are saved to file (not to the device memory) so that in the event of a crash no data is lost.

flushSeverity: the severity of the logs that will trigger a flush of the logs to the server. This enables you to only send logs of a session in which a specific severity log occured.

flushSize: the max file size of the log list that is retained on the device before being flushed to the server after a severuty log triggers the action.

The config.json will have large implications on your logging and it is usually reccomended that it be applied only following our guidance on the matter.

Contact our administrators at: [email protected] to request to schedule a meeting.

The Right to Erasure#

the right of erasure

In accordance with the GDPR users have the right to erasure and deletion upon request. Add the user ID (UUID, UDID) of the account that you wish to completely disable and delete. This action completely erases all past data, and stops future data from being collected.

The list of disabled devices is displayed directly below. Removing a user from the list, will restart collection of logs from that user's device.